The Commonwealth Forestry Association

The Commonwealth Forestry Association (CFA) is the world’s longest established international forestry organisation, tracing its history back to 1921. Its purpose is to support the professional development of those working with trees and forests. Today, it unites foresters, scientists, students, NGOs and policymakers in 35 Commonwealth countries in a unique international network that provides professional support to its members and forms a key element of civil society. 

The CFA aims to promote the conservation and sustainable management of the world’s forests and their contribution to peoples’ livelihoods. It does this through its mission to support the Millennium Development Goals, in particular those relating to the eradication of extreme poverty and hunger through the contribution of forests to livelihoods, and to the fundamental role that forests play in environmental stability. 

In order to achieve its mission, the CFA provides the following essential services: it disseminates information to members, policy-makers and the public; offers education and training to members; facilitates national capacity-building; recognises and awards excellence in the field of forestry; encourages interaction among members; and provides representation at international meetings. 

The CFA produces the renowned scientific journal The International Forestry Review as well as the CFA Newsletter, which covers the latest news and views. It also provides some of the most highly regarded awards in the forestry world: for example, the Queen’s Award for Forestry, the CFA Regional Award and the CFA Young Forester Award.


Post a comment

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Amnesty International